

Minutes of the Regular Board of Trustees **Organizational Meeting** of Grande Yellowhead Public School Division

October 27, 2021 – 9:00 am Virtual Meeting Location

Join with Google Meet

meet.google.com/rxk-axic-vtr

TRUSTEE ATTENDANCE:

M. Bobilek Present
S. Caputo Present
D. Delisle Present
F. Fowler Present
D. Karpluk Present
Y. Oshanyk Present
J. Pettitt Present

ADMINISTRATION ATTENDANCE:

- C. Lewis, Superintendent
- C. Kastrinos, Chief Deputy Superintendent
- S. Nicholson, Secretary Treasurer
- Dr. Harding, Assistant Superintendent Board Relations
- C. Aschenmeier, Acting Assistant Superintendent Learning Services
- E. Murphy, Director of Inclusive Learning
- S. Ripkens, Supervisor of Learning Services and Educational Technology
- B. Orge, Acting Director of Facilities
- L. Lee, Director of Information Technology
- K. Mitchell, Transportation Officer
- T. Giroux, Manager of Finance
- N. Gilks, Special Projects Manager
- K. Brook, Executive Assistant

DELEGATIONS PRESENT: Videoconference

CUPE – Donna Conger

School Administration/Staff – Darran Lorne, Darcy Reynolds, Heidi Kongsrud Community Member – Keli Setzer, Jo-Anne Seely, Tancey

According to Alberta Regulation 82/2019 — Education Act — Board Procedures Regulations, a notice of the Special Meeting was sent to the Trustees by email 2 days before the meeting.

CALL TO ORDER

Superintendent Lewis chaired the meeting for the election of the board chair and called the meeting to order at 0900 hours.



Swearing in of Trustees - Oath of Office

Individual Trustees were sworn to the office of Trustee for the Grande Yellowhead Public School Division by Secretary-Treasurer Nicholson. Ms. Keri Mitchell, Commissioner of Oaths, provided signatures on the Oath of Office documents.

Mandatory Disclosure of Interest

Forms for Mandatory Disclosure of Personal Interest were filled out, signed and submitted by individual Board members to the Secretary-Treasurer.

Device Contract

Device Contract Forms were filled out, signed, and submitted by individual Board members to the Secretary-Treasurer.

P-Card Acknowledgement Form

P-Card Acknowledgement Forms were filled out, signed and submitted by individual Board members to the Secretary-Treasuer.

2021-148 Election of Board Chair

Superintendent Lewis called for nominations for the position of Board Chair. Trustee Fowler nominated Trustee Karpluk. Nomination accepted. Hearing no further nominations, Trustee Karpluk accepted the position of Board Chair.

Carried

Trustee Karpluk assumed the role of the chair.

2021-149 APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Trustee Caputo moved that the Board approve the agenda.

Carried

2021-150 Election of Vice-Chair of the Board

Chair Karpluk called for nominations for the position of Vice Chair. Trustee Fowler nominated Trustee Caputo. Nomination accepted.

Chair Karpluk called a second time for nominations for Vice-Chair. Hearing no further nominations, Trustee Caputo accepted the role of Vice-Chair.

Carried

ACTION ITEMS

2021-151 Approval of Committee Structure

Trustee Caputo moved that the Board approve the Committee Structure of the Board according to Policy 8 and 9 for the 2021/22 school year.

Carried

STANDING COMMITTEES

- 1. Committee of the Whole:
 - Chair: Trustee Fowler
 - Vice Chair: Trustee Bobilek
- 2. ATA Appeals (Grievance) Committee:
 - Members: Trustees Pettitt, Bobilek and Oshanyk



- Alternate: Trustee Caputo
- 3. ATA Negotiations:
 - Members: Trustees Fowler and Karpluk
 - Alternate: Trustee Caputo
- 4. Audit Committee:
 - Members: all trustees
- 5. CUPE Negotiations:
 - Members: Trustees Caputo and Delisle
 - Alternate: Trustee Karpluk
- 6. Division Bus Drivers' Negotiations:
 - Trustees Pettitt and Delisle
 - Alternate: Trustee Fowler
- 7. Employee Assistance Plan Steering Committee:
 - Member: Trustee Caputo
 - Alternate: Trustee Fowler
- 8. Grievance Committee (Association of School Bus Drivers):
 - Members: Trustees Bobilek and Pettitt
 - Alternate: Trustee Delisle
- 9. Policy Committee:
 - Members: Trustees Caputo, Fowler, and Delisle
 - Alternate: Trustee Bobilek
- 10. Recognition of Employees:
 - Members: Trustees Bobilek and Pettitt
 - Alternate: Trustee Delisle
- 11. Board Planning Seminar
 - Members: Trustees Delisle and Bobilek
 - Alternate: Trustee Karpluk

Ad Hoc Committees

1. Student Expulsion: Two trustees (local when available); Superintendent or designate.

External Committees

- 1. Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) Zone 2/3 Board Representative:
 - Representative: Trustee Karpluk



Alternate: Trustee Fowler

2. Public School Boards Association of Alberta (PSBAA) Council Representative:

Representative: Trustee Fowler

Alternate: Trustee Karpluk

3. Rural Caucus of Alberta School Boards:

Representative: Trustee Caputo

Alternate: Trustee Bobilek

Closed Representation

1. Chamber of Commerce

Evansburg Entwistle - Trustee Bobilek;

Edson - Trustee Fowler; Trustee Pettitt as alternate;

Hinton - Trustee Caputo; Trustee Oshanyk as alternate;

Jasper - Trustee Karpluk;

Grande Cache - Trustee Delisle.

2. **Interagency**: Trustee from individual community where applicable.

Ad Hoc Committee Representation

1. Report Card Committee:

Representative: Trustees Fowler and Karpluk

2. TEBA

Representative: Trustee Karpluk

Alternate: Trustee Caputo

2021-152 Appointment of Signing Authorities for Documents and Teacher Contracts

Trustee Bobilek moved that the Board of Trustees appoint the Board Chair, the Vice Chair, the Superintendent of Schools, or Secretary-Treasurer as signing authority for all documents, and the Chief Deputy Superintendent as signing authority for teacher contracts only.

Carried

2021-153 Appointment of Signing Authorities on Cheques and Negotiable Instruments

Trustee Delisle moved that the Board of Trustees appoint the Board Chair or the Vice-Chair together with the Superintendent of Schools or secretary-Treasurer, as signing authority on all cheques and negotiable instruments.

Carried



2021-154	Appointment of Signing Authorities - Cheques

Trustee Pettitt moved that the Board of Trustees authorize the use of

facsimile and digital signatures for signing cheques.

Carried

2021-155 Appointment of Signing Authorities – Payments of Accounts

Trustee Caputo moved that the Board of Trustees authorize the use of

electronic funds transfer for payments of accounts.

Carried

2021-156 ADJOURNMENT

Trustee Oshanyk moved for adjournment at 1006 hours.

Carried

X Dale Karpluk
Dale Karpluk (Nov 10, 2021 20:42 MST)

Dale Karpluk Board Chair X Sean Nin

Sean Nicholson Secretary-Treasurer