

Division News

October 16, 2017

Unofficial Election Results

IMMEDIATE RELEASE - The results are unofficial, but Grande Yellowhead Public School Division welcomes two new members to the division's Board of Trustees, with three trustees in by acclamation, and two incumbents re-elected.

HINTON - Ward 1. Sub #1

Ellen (Benson) Aust	495
Shirley Caputo, (Incumbent)	515
Doug Heine	371
Hank Smit	185
Total Ballots Counted	1566

EDSON - Ward 1, Sub #2

Fiona Fowler	821
Kristie Gomuwka	661
Joan A. Zaporosky, (Incumbent)	803
Total Ballots Counted	2285

The remaining Sub-Division #3 of Ward 1, Lobstick zone, has incumbent Brenda Rosadiuk in by acclamation, as well as incumbent Ken Fate in the Grande Cache ward. New to trusteeship but not new to GYPSD, is Jasper Ward's acclaimed trustee, Dale Karpluk. She retired in 2008 as principal of Jasper Junior/Senior High School after over forty one years of education service. Incumbent Hinton trustee Shirley Caputo and Edson incumbent Joan Zaporosky also return to the board for another four years. The division welcomes new trustees, Ellen Aust from Hinton and Fiona Fowler from Edson.

"On behalf of all of us, I wish to sincerely thank our outgoing trustees for their passion and dedication to public education over the last four years," noted Carolyn Lewis, Superintendent of Schools. "I welcome our new members and look forward to working with the board to continue to meet and exceed the educational needs of our students, their families, and our communities."

Grande Yellowhead Public School Division's new Board of Trustees will hold its organizational meeting before the Public Board meeting on October 17, 2017. The results of the election will be made official at noon on Friday, October 20th.