Division News



For Immediate Release October 22, 2021

Notice of Election Local Authorities Election Act Section 12, 35, 46, 53 Grande Yellowhead Public School Division, Province of Alberta

October 18, 2021 School Board Elections

become a

school trustee

Public School Trustees Official 2021 Election Results

Grande Yellowhead Public School Division (GYPSD) welcomes four new members to the Division's Board of Trustees, with four trustees in by acclamation, and includes one incumbent re-elected.

LOBSTICK - Ward 1, Sub #3

Melodie Bobilek	489
Brenda Rosadiuk, Incumbent	392
Total Ballots Counted	881

EDSON - Ward 1, Sub #2

Fiona Fowler, Incumbent	590
Jocelyn Pettitt	614
Joan Zaporosky, Incumbent	536
Total Ballots Counted	1,740

Incumbents in by acclamation for another four years of trusteeship are Shirley Caputo from Hinton, and Dale Karpluk from Jasper. The Division welcomes new trustees, Yvonne Oshanyk from Hinton and Darrel Delisle from Grande Cache, both in by acclamation, and Melodie Bobilek for the Lobstick zone, and Jocelyn Pettitt for the Edson zone. Fiona Fowler, incumbent, was also elected in the Edson zone for another four years.

Grande Yellowhed Public School Division sincerely thanks all of the outgoing trustees for their passion and dedication to public education over the last four years and welcomes the incoming members for their upcoming work in meeting and exceeding the educational needs of GYPSD students, their families, and communities.

Grande Yellowhead Public School Division's new Board of Trustees will hold its organizational meeting before the Public Board meeting on October 27, 2021. The results of the election will be made official at noon on Friday, October 22, 2021.

-30-

Grande Yellowhead stretches from Jasper National Park, east to Evansburg, and north to the Town of Grande Cache. The Division includes seventeen schools, five Learning Connection Centres, approximately 5,000 students, and 600 staff members.

