

Minutes of the Regular Board of Trustees **Organizational Meeting** of Grande Yellowhead Public School Division

June 15, 2022 – 10:00 am Education Services Center, Edson, AB https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X8pK1I6SkJw

nups.//www.youtube.com/watch?v-AopK110SkJw

TRUSTEE ATTENDANCE:

M. Bobilek Present S. Caputo Present

D. Delisle Present Virtually

F. Fowler Present
D. Karpluk Present
Y. Oshanyk Present
J. Pettitt Present

ADMINISTRATION ATTENDANCE:

- C. Lewis, Superintendent
- C. Kastrinos, Chief Deputy Superintendent
- S. Nicholson, Secretary Treasurer
- Dr. Harding, Assistant Superintendent Board Relations
- C. Aschenmeier, Assistant Superintendent Learning Services
- E. Murphy, Director of Inclusive Learning
- L. Lee, Director of Information Technology
- A. Fragomeni, Teacher Consultant
- K. Brook, Executive Assistant

According to Alberta Regulation 82/2019 — Education Act — Board Procedures Regulations, a notice of the Special Meeting was sent to the Trustees by email the week before the meeting.

CALL TO ORDER

Superintendent Lewis chaired the meeting for the election of the board chair and called the meeting to order at 1000 hours.

2022-065 Election of Board Chair

Superintendent Lewis called for nominations for the position of Board Chair. Trustee Fowler nominated Trustee Karpluk. Nomination accepted.

Superintendent Lewis called a second time for nominations for the position of Board Chair. Hearing no further nominations, Trustee Karpluk accepted the position of Board Chair.

Carried

Trustee Karpluk assumed the role of the chair.

DK DK

2022-066 APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Trustee Caputo moved that the Board approve the agenda.

Carried

Mandatory Disclosure of Interest

Paper forms for Mandatory Disclosure of Personal Interest were filled out, signed, and submitted by individual Board members to the Secretary-Treasurer. Trustee Delisle will submit his electronically.

2022-067 Election of Vice-Chair of the Board

Chair Karpluk called for nominations for the position of Vice Chair. Trustee Fowler nominated Trustee Caputo. Nomination accepted.

Chair Karpluk called a second time for nominations for Vice-Chair. Hearing no further nominations, Trustee Caputo accepted the role of Vice-Chair.

Carried

ACTION ITEMS

2022-068 Approval of Committee Structure

Trustee Fowler moved that the Board of Trustees approve the Committee Structure and appointment of trustee representatives of the Board for the 2022/23 school year.

Carried

STANDING COMMITTEES

- 1. Committee of the Whole:
 - Chair: Trustee Fowler
 - Vice Chair: Trustee Bobilek
- 2. ATA Appeals (Grievance) Committee:
 - Members: Trustees Bobilek and Pettitt
 - Alternate: Trustee Caputo
- 3. ATA Negotiations:
 - Members: Trustees Fowler and Caputo
 - Alternate: Trustee Karpluk
- 4. Audit Committee:
 - Members: all trustees
- 5. CUPE Negotiations:
 - Members: Trustees Caputo and Delisle
 - Alternate: Trustee Pettitt
- 6. Division Bus Drivers' Negotiations:
 - Trustees Oshanyk and Bobilek
 - Alternate: Trustee Pettitt
- 7. Grievance Committee (Association of School Bus Drivers):
 - Members: Trustees Bobilek and Oshanyk



- Alternate: Trustee Delisle
- 8. Policy Committee:
 - Members: Trustees Caputo, Pettitt, and Karpluk
 - Alternate: Trustee Bobilek
- 9. Recognition of Employees:
 - Members: Trustees Bobilek and Pettitt
 - Alternate: Trustee Oshanyk
- 10. Board Planning Seminar
 - Members: Trustees Delisle and Bobilek
 - Alternate: Trustee Karpluk

Ad Hoc Committees

1. Student Expulsion: Two trustees (local when available); Superintendent or designate.

External Committees

- 1. Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) Zone 2/3 Board Representative:
 - Representative: Trustee Karpluk
 - Alternate: Trustee Fowler
- 2. Public School Boards Association of Alberta (PSBAA) Council Representative:
 - Representative: Trustee Fowler
 - Alternate: Trustee Bobilek
- 3. Rural Caucus of Alberta School Boards:
 - Representative: Trustee Caputo
 - Alternate: Trustee Bobilek

Closed Representation

1. Chamber of Commerce

Evansburg - Trustee Bobilek

Edson - Trustees Fowler and Pettitt

Hinton - Trustees Caputo and Trustee Oshanyk

Jasper - Trustee Karpluk

Grande Cache - Trustee Delisle

2. Interagency: Trustee from individual community where applicable.



Ad Hoc Committee Representation

1. Report Card Committee:

Representative: Trustees Fowler and Karpluk

2. TEBA

Representative: Trustee Karpluk

Alternate: Trustee Caputo

2022-069 Appointment of Signing Authorities

Trustee Fowler moved that the Board of Trustees appoint the Board Chair, the Vice Chair, the Superintendent of Schools, or Secretary-Treasurer as signing authority for all documents, and the Chief Deputy Superintendent as signing authority for teacher contracts only.

Carried

2022-070 Appointment of Signing Authorities: Cheques and Negotiable Instruments

Trustee Pettitt moved that the Board of Trustees appoint the Board Chair or the Vice-Chair together with the Superintendent of Schools or secretary-Treasurer, as signing authority on all cheques and negotiable instruments.

Carried

2022-071 Appointment of Signing Authorities - Cheques

Trustee Caputo moved that the Board of Trustees authorize the use of facsimile and digital signatures for signing cheques.

Carried

2022-072 Appointment of Signing Authorities – Payments of Accounts

Trustee Bobilek moved that the Board of Trustees authorize the use of electronic funds transfer for payments of accounts.

Carried

2022-073 ADJOURNMENT

Trustee Caputo moved for adjournment at 1047 hours.

Carried

X Dale Karpluk

Dale Karpluk (Aug 26, 2022 21:34 MDT)

Dale Karpluk Board Chair X Sean Kin

Sean Nicholson Secretary-Treasurer